Protected Areas

Protected Areas in Liberia

There are five protected areas in the country: The Sapo National Park, the East Nimba Nature Reserve, the Lake Piso Multiple Use Reserve, the Gola National Forest Park, and the Grebo-Krahn Forest Park. These are located respectively in the south east, north east, southwest, north west, and south east of the country. the protected areas of Liberia cover in total an area of 4,548 squared kilometres, which represents 4.1 % of the country’s area.